HOLACRACY

Origin of holacracy

Holacracy – or in German “Holokratie” – is a relatively new concept of organisation, which goes back in its original approaches to the Austrian-Hungarian writer Arthur Koestler, who shaped the Holon concept with his book “Das Gespenst in der Maschine” (1968). He constructed the term from the Greek word hólos = whole and the suffix on, which should point to the partial or particle character.

In his definition, he describes the holon as a component in a hierarchy, which – depending on the point of view – behaves as a whole or as parts. A very good example of a holon is the human cell, which in itself can be seen as a whole and at the same time represents only a part of the superordinate structure.

American entrepreneur Brian J. Robertson uses the Holon concept as the basis for his organizational concept of “holocracy”. This includes the practice of regulating and managing organisations, which is characterised by decision-making based on transparency and participatory opportunities for participation at all levels.

Holocracy helps organisations prosper more easily in a world that is becoming increasingly volatile and dynamic (keyword: VUCA). The claim of holocracy is that every person in the company becomes a manager, which supports commitment and flexibility. Clear structures, roles and decision-making processes create a well-organized system instead of chaos.

How does holacracy work?

Holocratically organised companies define dynamic roles based on work and not on people. Employees can therefore take on different roles in different teams, which are dynamically adapted to their daily work requirements. Decisions are made locally, since authority is highly decentralised and teams can therefore work independently and autonomously.

Nevertheless, the individual persons and teams do not act completely independently of each other, but are networked with each other through connections (“lead link”, “rep link”, “cross links”). As a result, employees and teams work more autonomously and managers focus on strategy and planning instead of operational micromanagement.

Often the concept of holocracy is described and accepted as non-hierarchical, managers are abolished. However, the holocratic enterprise is based on ever-growing circles, with inner circles being subordinate to outer circles. Roles therefore exist that are quite hierarchical.

This organisational structure is adapted to current challenges in regular team meetings (“governance meetings”). The system is supported by clear and transparent rules that are visible and valid for everyone in the so-called Holocracy Constitution.


Holocratic organisational design (own presentation based on Robertson 2016)

Challenges in the introduction of holocracy


When introducing a holocratic “operating system”, as with all change processes, employees should not be ignored.

Holocracy provides for a strict separation between role and person. This is theoretically possible and also brings advantages. As a result, people “stick” less to their roles because they tend to take on different roles and thus become more flexible.

However, it is still people who act, not machines. Values, emotions, experiences are not cancelled out by the “digital” separation between man and role. Perhaps it is no coincidence that the founder Robertson is first and foremost a developer and thus thinks and acts more “digitally”.

The model of holocratic structures also ignores the business context and there is the danger that the essential focus on the customer in a VUCA context is ignored too little.

Holocracy offers solutions to increase internal democracy and efficiency at the same time, but does not integrate the interaction between the environment and the company, which could result in a holocratically structured company being blind to operations and lacking market and customer understanding as well as a weak service culture.

Examples of holocratic companies in practice


The Holocracy concept has already been used by over 300 organizations in the USA. The best-known and largest of these is Zappos, an online shoe and fashion mail order company with around 1500 employees, which served as a model for the German Zalando of the Samwer brothers. Especially for Zappos, an organization that was already agile and customer-oriented before the Holacracy introduction, holocratic structures seem to bring added value through reduced administrative activities and less bureaucracy. Therefore, a holocratic organizational structure can make sense in order to become more dynamic and promote self-management.

Other companies in which holocracy has been introduced:

German-speaking area:

  • Blinkist, a start-up specializing in the compilation of non-fiction texts
  • Netcentric, Swiss Software Developer
  • Soulbottles, a Berlin eco-start-up oriented towards holocracy and non-violent communication
  • Deutsche Bahn, which is experimenting with holocracy in selected areas
  • ESBZ, a reform school in Berlin, which renounces the school management

International:

  • AdScale Laboratories
  • bol.com, in some teams
  • Paramount Software Solutions
  • Durabilis
  • MySign
  • Swisscom, in parts of the company

Conclusion

An unconditional recommendation for all entrepreneurs who feel the desire for new ways as well as for executives and organizational developers who are generally interested in modern business concepts.

Would you like more information?
Then simply contact us.
We look forward to seeing you!


How can I help you?

Your contact person

„HOLACRACY“ / Holokratie

Herkunft von „holacracy“ / Holokratie

Bei „Holacracy“ – oder auf Deutsch „Holokratie“ – handelt es sich um ein relativ neuartiges Organisationskonzept, das in seinen ursprünglichen Ansätzen zurückgeht auf den österreichisch-ungarischen Schriftsteller Arthur Koestler, der mit seinem Buch „Das Gespenst in der Maschine“ (1968) das Holon-Konzept prägte. Dieser konstruierte den Begriff aus dem griechischen Wort hólos = ganz und dem Suffix on, das dabei auf den Teil- beziehungsweise den Partikelcharakter hindeuten soll.

In seiner Definition bezeichnet er das Holon als eine Komponente in einer Hierarchie, die sich – je nach Betrachtungsweise – als Ganzheiten oder als Teile verhalten. Ein sehr gutes Beispiel für ein Holon ist die menschliche Zelle, welche an sich gesehen als Ganzes betrachtet werden kann und gleichzeitig nur einen Teil der übergeordneten Struktur darstellt.

Der amerikanische Unternehmer Brian J. Robertson benutzt das Holon-Konzept als Grundlage für sein Organisationskonzept der „Holokratie“. Dieses beinhaltet die Praxis zur Regelung und Führung von Organisationen, die sich durch eine auf Transparenz und partizipativen Beteiligungsmöglichkeiten durch alle Ebenen hindurch basierende Entscheidungsfindung auszeichnet.

Mit Hilfe von Holokratie können Organisationen leichter in einer Welt prosperieren, die zunehmend volatiler und dynamischer wird (Stichwort: VUCA). Der Anspruch von Holokratie ist, dass jede Person im Unternehmen zur Führungskraft wird, wodurch Engagement und Flexibilität unterstützt werden. Durch klare Strukturen, Rollen und Entscheidungsprozesse entsteht an Stelle von Chaos ein wohlorganisiertes System.

Wie funktioniert Holokratie / „holacracy“?

Holokratisch organisierte Unternehmen definieren dynamische Rollen anhand der Arbeit und nicht anhand der Personen. Mitarbeitende können daher verschiedene Rollen in unterschiedlichen Teams einnehmen, die dem täglichen Arbeitsbedarf dynamisch angepasst werden. Entscheidungen werden lokal getroffen, da Autorität stark dezentralisiert ist und Teams dadurch eigenständig, eigenverantwortlich und selbststeuernd arbeiten können.

Dennoch agieren die einzelnen Personen und Teams nicht völlig unabhängig voneinander, sondern sind durch Verbindungen („lead link“, „rep link“, „cross links“) miteinander vernetzt. Dadurch arbeiten Mitarbeitende und Teams autonomer und Manager konzentrieren sich auf Strategie und Planung statt auf operatives Mikromanagement.

Häufig wird das Holokratie-Konzept als non-hierarchisch beschrieben und angenommen, Manager werden abgeschafft. Allerdings beruht das holokratische Unternehmen auf immer größer werdenden Kreisen, wobei innere Kreise den äußeren Kreisen untergeordnet sind. Es existieren deshalb Rollen, die durchaus hierarchisch sind.  

Diese Organisationsstruktur wird in regelmäßigen Teamsitzungen den aktuellen Herausforderungen angepasst („Governance Meetings“). Gestützt wird das System durch klare und transparente Regeln, die für alle in der sogenannten Holokratie-Verfassung einsehbar und gültig sind.


Holokratisches Organisationsdesign (eigene Darstellung in Anlehnung an Robertson 2016)

Herausforderungen bei der Einführung von Holokratie


Bei der Einführung von einem holokratischen „Betriebssystem“ sollten, wie bei allen Change- Prozessen, die Mitarbeiter nicht außer Acht gelassen werden.

Holokratie sieht eine strikte Trennung zwischen Rolle und Person vor. Das ist theoretisch möglich und bringt auch Vorteile mit sich. So „kleben“ Menschen weniger an ihren Rollen, da sie eher dazu neigen, verschiedene Rollen anzunehmen und dadurch flexibler werden.

Allerdings sind es eben immer noch Menschen, die handeln, und keine Maschinen. Werte, Emotionen, Erfahrungen werden durch die „digitale“ Trennung zwischen Mensch und Rolle nicht aufgehoben. Vielleicht ist es ja kein Zufall, dass der Gründer Robertson in erster Linie eben Entwickler ist und damit eher „digital“ denkt und handelt.

Das Modell holokratischer Strukturen ignoriert darüber hinaus den Unternehmenskontext und es besteht die Gefahr, die in einem VUCA-Kontext essentielle Fokussierung auf den Kunden zu wenig zu beachten.

Holokratie bietet Lösungen, um die interne Demokratie und gleichzeitig Effizienz zu steigern, integriert jedoch nicht die Interaktion zwischen Umwelt und Unternehmen, was in der Folge in einem holokratisch strukturiertem Unternehmen zu Betriebsblindheit und fehlendem Markt- und Kundenverständnis sowie schwacher Dienstleistungskultur führen könnte.

Beispiele holokratischer Unternehmen aus der Praxis


Das Holokratie-Konzept wurde bereits von über 300 Organisationen in den USA angewandt. Das bekannteste und größte Unternehmen davon ist Zappos, ein Online-Schuh- und Mode-Versand mit rund 1500 Mitarbeitern, das als Vorlage für die deutsche Zalando der Samwer-Brüder diente. Gerade für Zappos, eine Organisation, die bereits vor der Holakratie-Einführung agil und kundenorientiert aufgestellt war, scheinen holokratische Strukturen einen Mehrwert durch verringerte administrative Tätigkeiten und geringere Bürokratie mit sich zu bringen. Daher kann ein holokratischer Organisationsaufbau durchaus Sinn machen, um dynamischer zu werden und Selbstmanagement zu fördern.

Weitere Unternehmen, in denen Holokratie eingeführt wurde:

Deutschsprachiger Raum:

  • Blinkist, ein Start-up, das sich auf die Zusammenfassung von Sachbuchtexten spezialisiert hat
  • Netcentric, Schweizer Softwareentwickler
  • Soulbottles, ein Berliner Öko-Start-up, welches sich an Holokratie und gewaltfreier Kommunikation orientiert
  • Deutsche Bahn, die in ausgewählten Bereichen mit Holokratie experimentiert
  • ESBZ, eine Reformschule in Berlin, die auf die Schulleitung verzichtet

International:

  • AdScale Laboratories
  • bol.com, in einigen Teams
  • Paramount Software Solutions
  • Durabilis
  • MySign
  • Swisscom, in Teilen des Unternehmens

Fazit


Eine unbedingte Empfehlung für alle Unternehmer/innen, die Lust auf neue Wege verspüren genauso wie für Führungskräfte und Organisationsentwickler/innen, die generell an modernen Unternehmenskonzepten interessiert sind.

Haben Sie Lust auf mehr Informationen bekommen?
Dann kontaktieren Sie uns doch einfach.
Wir freuen uns auf Sie!


Wie kann ich Ihnen helfen?

Ihr Ansprechpartner